International Solar Alliance

What is International Solar Alliance (ISA)?

International Solar Alliance is a group of more than 120 countries (alliance) which came together for generating clean energy using Solar Energy and thus reducing their carbon footprints and moving towards better, greener & cleaner future. To understand about International Solar Alliance we need to look at COP21 climate conference which took place at Paris in 2015 under The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC).


What is COP21 & significance of International Solar Alliance ?

The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) which works on reducing the pace of climate change or mitigates the climate change through environmental agreement held their 21st annual conference of Parties referred as COP in Paris from 30th November 2015 to 11th December 2015. This conferenced received its name as COP21.

This conference aimed at slowing down the carbon emissions and other green house gases to combat climate change widely known as Global Warming. This was aimed by various means with considerable focus on use of renewable energy instead of conventional (non-renewable) sources of energy like coal, petroleum etc. Considering a number of renewable energy options available and understanding their potential and limitations Solar Energy was given a lot of focus. Solar Energy being freely available, clean, now cheap and commercially viable was seen as a promising source of energy by the leader of countries attending the COP21 conference.

For tapping the solar energy approx 120 countries came forward to form an alliance which was known as International Solar Alliance which marked a great achievement in the conference. This initiative was taken from side of India’s Prime Minister, Narendra Modi which was supported by France and various other countries. Under this alliance the member countries will work together for using and shifting to solar energy for meeting their energy demand and requirements.

Solar Panels
Solar PV Panels for generating electricity

International solar alliance countries and their selection

The countries with rich solar energy on basis of their geographical location i.e. those lying fully or partially between the Tropic of Cancer and the Tropic of Capricorn are largely part of International Solar Alliance. Their location makes them receive large amount of solar radiation at most of the time of year and can utilize solar energy in cost-effective manner. The member countries of International Solar Alliance will work together to utilize the solar energy for electricity generation purpose and meeting the heating requirements by various methods.

International Solar Alliance

List of prospective Member Countries and Territories for International Solar Alliance

Ninja Column 1Ninja Column 2Ninja Column 3Ninja Column 4Ninja Column 5
25. Union of Comoros50. Republic of Guyana75. Republic of Nauru100. Republic of South Africa 
24. Republic of Colombia49. Republic of Guinea-Bissau74. Republic of Namibia99. Federal Republic of Somalia 
23. People’s Republic of China48. Republic of Guinea73. Republic of Myanmar98. Solomon Islands 
22. Republic of Chile47. Republic of Guatemala72. Republic of Mozambique97. Republic of Singapore 
21. Republic of Chad46. Republic of Grenada71. Federated States of Micronesia96. Republic of Sierra Leone121. Republic of Zimbabwe
20. Central African Republic45. Republic of Ghana70. United Mexican State95. Republic of Seychelles120. Republic of Zambia
19. Republic of Cape Verde44. Republic of The Gambia69. Republic of Mauritius94. Republic of Senegal119. Republic of Yemen
18. Republic of Cameroon43. Gabonese Republic68. Islamic Republic of Mauritania93. Kingdom of Saudi Arabia118. Socialist Republic of Vietnam
17. Kingdom of Cambodia42. France67. Republic of Marshall Islands92. Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe117. Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela
16. Republic of Burundi41. Republic of Fiji66. Republic of Mali91. Independent State of Samoa116. Republic of Vanuatu
15. Burkina Faso40. Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia65. Republic of Maldives90. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines115. United States of America
14. Nation of Brunei, Abode of Peace39. State of Eritrea64. Federation of Malaysia89. Federation of Saint Kitts and Nevis114. United Kingdom
13. Federal Republic of Brazil38. Republic of Equatorial Guinea63. Republic of Malawi88. St. Lucia113. United Arab Emirates
12. Republic of Botswana.37. Republic of El Salvador62. Republic of Madagascar87. Republic of Rwanda112. Republic of Uganda
11. Pluri’National State of Bolivia36. Arab Republic of Egypt61. Libya86. Republic of Philippines111. Tuvalu
10. Republic of Benin35. Republic of Ecuador60. Republic of Liberia85. Republic of Peru110. Republic of Trinidad and Tobago
9. Belize34. Dominican Republic59. Laos People’s Democratic Republic84. Republic of Paraguay109. Kingdom of Tonga
8. Barbados33. Commonwealth of Dominica58. Republic of Kiribati83. Independent State of Papua New Guinea108. Togolese Republic
7. Peoples Republic of Bangladesh32. Republic of Djibouti57. Republic of Kenya82. Republic of Panama107. Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste
6. Commonwealth of Bahamas31. Republic of Cuba56. Japan81. Republic of Palau106. Kingdom of Thailand
5. Commonwealth of Australia30. Republic of Cote d’ivoire55. Jamaica80. Sultanate of Oman105. United Republic of Tanzania
4. Argentina Republic29. Republic of Costa Rica54. Republic of Indonesia79. Federal Republic of Nigeria104. Republic of Suriname
3. Republic of Angola28. New Zealand53. Republic of India78. Republic of Niger103. Republic of Sudan
2. Antigua and Barbuda27. Congo – Republic of52. Republic of Honduras77. Republic of Nicaragua102. Democratic Socialist Republic of Srilanka
1. People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria26. Congo – Democratic Republic of51. Republic of Haiti76. The Netherlands101. Republic of South Sudan

The list of countries in the above table is as per working paper of Ministry of New & Renewable Energy, Govt. of India. Link of the same is Working Paper on ISA.

More information about International Solar Alliance & COP21

Formation of International Solar Alliance at COP21 is considered to be a landmark. For the first time all nations including the developed and developing nations came together consensus was reached to take steps for reducing the carbon emissions to slow down the climate change. For doing this responsibility being shared will be different with more responsibility will be shared by developed nations as compared to developing nations. This will be achieved by sharing of technology aimed at generating cleaner energy, increasing efficiency of existing power plants, pooling of funds for technology development.

Read about: Working Paper on ISA, Land Use Planning in India, National Action Plan on Climate Change (NAPCC)